WHADDYA THINK of this plan?

Discussion about Reverse Flow Smokers
DMW
beginner
beginner

WHADDYA THINK of this plan?

Post by DMW » June 26th, 2019, 7:12 am

Hi!

How does this plan sound/look according to y'all's experience and calculations? I've never done this before!

I'm coming up with a plan for propane fueled smoker made from a piece of 18" pipe. I want a smoker that can hold 2 briskets, one on top of the other. The fuel and the upright design are to accomodate my very limited backyard space here in the city. I do have a small but well-equipped metal shop.

Please pardon my kindergarten level sketchup skills. (Did my attachments even work?)

Here are the important dimensions:

The CC is 18" in diameter and 30" long.

The FB will be a 13.5"x13.5"x13.5" square box centered below the CC with a 5" diameter circular throat. The FB will have an open bottom. There will be an angled baffle/drip plate below the cooking grates with 2" clearance inside the CC. It will drain out a small hole in the back of the CC.

The chimney will be an 18" long 3" pipe centered on the CC with a 90* bend in it to avoid interference with the door.

Won't be embarking on this just yet, just want to see if I'm on the right track!

thanks for any tips and tricks!

Steve in DC
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-26 at 8.04.23 AM.png

DMW
beginner
beginner

Re: WHADDYA THINK of this plan?

Post by DMW » June 26th, 2019, 7:14 am

Screen Shot 2019-06-26 at 8.02.57 AM.png
more pix:

towtruck
Expert
Expert

Post by towtruck » June 26th, 2019, 8:36 am

What are your plans for the inside of the CC? Does your baffle have openings at the left and right ends and are they sized according to the calculator?
What will be your source for smoke and where will it be located? You are going to need a place to put a pan of wood chips for smoke that can be filled or changed out when needed. A gas burner will make heat but without a good supply of smoke it's just a gas BBQ.