Stack Exit Location from CC

Horizontal smokers with a side firebox and tuning plates.
MVPMLC
beginner
beginner

Stack Exit Location from CC

Post by MVPMLC » February 16th, 2017, 6:15 pm

I am new to smoker building. I just purchased "How to build your own BBQ smokers" CD from E-bay.
The Author, James Jones from Waxahachie, TX , recommends that the exhaust should exit at or slightly below the level of the bottom cook rack. Either out of the end of the CC with a 90 degree angle, or, down through the top inside the CC with a 45 degree angle. Otherwise your smoker will loose all its heat out of the top, also he states that with his method will you less fuel.
I have noticed several different methods on various professionally constructed smokers.
I would like to know what feedback/advise some members of this forum have to offer on this subject.

Thank You! MVP

Big T
Title: Go Getter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Backyard Boys

Re: Stack Exit Location from CC

Post by Big T » February 16th, 2017, 7:10 pm

There's been a lot of debate about this very subject and there's not a definitive answer. I have built a few smokers of various designs and I have always put the stack as high as possible on the CC and I've never had any issues. I've seen guys on here that have dropped their stacks down low on the CC and they swear by it. I think that you need to consider the overall design of the smoker before you decide on a stack location. We had a new member join the forum recently because he built a cooker based off of a very popular design and he was having major temp issues. He posted some pictures and Tom was able to help him correct his problems, they were caused by the height and size of the throat in relation to the size and location of the stack exit. If you are really wanting to build a tried and true design, you should take a look at smokerplans.net. The plans are easy to read and they come with tech support by the Guru himself OB1.

Measure Twice.....Cut Three Times.

Rodcrafter