Losing my touch

If you just want to shoot the breeze or find out what's going on at SmokerBuilders, try here.
Mo Smoke
Expert
Expert

Losing my touch

Post by Mo Smoke » February 5th, 2018, 2:56 pm

I love to grill. Started with s Weber Kettle At 18. Now that I’m 50, built a smoker and discovered all these gadgets and techniques, and the money making potential for Bbq...I feel like I’m losing my touch. My latest cooks haven’t been as good as in the past. Sometimes I’m not having fun like I used to. I don’t trust my judgement the same. Either I overcook meat or I gotta look at my thermapen to KNOW something is done. It’s weird. I would love to quit my job one day and make money doing something I love like Grilling. But right now it feels like I’m losing my touch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Smoke em if ya got em.

Weldun
Expert
Expert
Title: I'm no expert
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Re: Losing my touch

Post by Weldun » February 5th, 2018, 6:50 pm

It's kind of funny to me how that happens, I too am 50 and seems like youthful ignorance/ simplicity seemed to always work out. I had better results right after building my mini and went through a decline and now have gotten back to where I was early on. I think in my case anyways I complicated things thinking that was the answer to the perfect Q when in reality simple has worked forever so why change it now. I still think some of the best ribs I ever made was in a makeshift barrel with a pile of charcoal in the bottom and a chicken wire basket to hold the ribs. I don't think you've lost anything I think you've simply moved away from it, much like I did.

Grandma always said "if ya can't be handsome ya better at least be handy"

Big T
Title: Go Getter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Backyard Boys

Post by Big T » February 5th, 2018, 7:17 pm