Reverse flow vs conventional smoker

If you just want to shoot the breeze or find out what's going on at SmokerBuilders, try here.
livy

Reverse flow vs conventional smoker

Post by livy » March 2nd, 2019, 7:42 pm

Just wondering: I am a KCBS cook who has always used a pellet cooker. I just never thought that I was getting enough smoke taste on my food. So I added a reverse flow cooker to my team, thinking that I would use all wood for my heat source, but the first couple of cooks did not turn out so good. It had way to much smoke flavor for me. Now I'm thinking about the Jammy Jambo and the Lang smoker design and how they work. The heat and smoke goes under the meat and out the other side, with not much actual smoke going across the meat. So my question IS: Is the reverse flow with all that smoke going over the meat too much smoke? I'll be interested in hearing all your thoughts on this subject.

Big T
Title: Go Getter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Backyard Boys

Re: Reverse flow vs conventional smoker

Post by Big T » March 3rd, 2019, 1:06 am