Stick vs MIG Welding

If you just want to shoot the breeze or find out what's going on at SmokerBuilders, try here.
Saltier

Stick vs MIG Welding

Post by Saltier » December 11th, 2019, 3:06 pm

I am an old stick welder but am considering purchasing a MIG machine. Looking for PROS and CONS on the subject. Is the difference really worth it? Which costs more/less to operate and etc...

ajfoxy
Expert
Expert
Title: Neophyte Smoker Bldr
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Re: Stick vs MIG Welding

Post by ajfoxy » December 11th, 2019, 3:46 pm

Mig is really nice in the fact that you have a really long electrode, the whole roll in fact. Mig with gas gives a clean bead with minimal splatter if set up right. However, you can only weld in minimal windy conditions to avoid blowing away the shielding gas. Unless you use flux core then you are back to splatter and having to chip the slag off. In my opinion (which does not count for much) for thinner materials Mig is better. For thicker materials stick is better UNLESS you have a huge ass high amp Mig costing mega $$$. For inside work, Mig is nicer... nicer bead, less splatter, less fumes and easier cleanup. Just my 2c worth

Learning generally boils down to "Repetition or the avoidance of pain", some people learn by doing, some by watching and some just have to pee on the electric fence.

Whether you think that you can, or that you can't, you are usually right. Henry Ford

Big T
Title: Go Getter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Backyard Boys

Post by Big T » December 11th, 2019, 6:01 pm

:yth: Also, MIG does not like rusty metal so you have to make sure that your joints are clean.

Measure Twice.....Cut Three Times.

k.a.m.
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Tequila Sunrise BBQ Team

Post by k.a.m. » December 18th, 2019, 12:52 pm