Flux core settings trouble

Talk about welders and metal working equipment.
cyberstrategist
Wants to build a smoker
Wants to build a smoker
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Old Country BBQ

Flux core settings trouble

Post by cyberstrategist » March 16th, 2016, 9:40 pm

Looking for help here. I have to do a vertical corner weld where one piece is 1/8 and the other is 3/16. I can't get my settings down enough to get a good weld. I can get a nice weld horizontal but I get too much splatter verticaly. I'm using Hobart 030 Flux core wire. I've watched some videos and such but still can't get a weld that I isn't all messed up.

Any hints? I can control wire feed speed, voltage, and spot timing.

-Cyber

Where faith + family + tradition always equals success. Serving up BBQ the old school way.

Currently using...
Five Barrel Cookers; One New Braunfels horizontal; One Trailer smoker (being built)

Weldun
Expert
Expert
Title: I'm no expert
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Re: Flux core settings trouble

Post by Weldun » March 16th, 2016, 10:18 pm

More information might be helpful in helping you find a resolution to your dilemma, type of machine and type of shielding gas if any and are you trying to weld vertically using uphill or downhill progression?

Grandma always said "if ya can't be handsome ya better at least be handy"

cyberstrategist
Wants to build a smoker
Wants to build a smoker

Post by cyberstrategist » March 17th, 2016, 12:17 am

Weldun wrote:More information might be helpful in helping you find a resolution to your dilemma, type of machine and type of shielding gas if any and are you trying to weld vertically using uphill or downhill progression?
Klutch MIG 140SI (Northern Tool's brand)
Flux core - no gas
Downhill

Where faith + family + tradition always equals success. Serving up BBQ the old school way.

Currently using...
Five Barrel Cookers; One New Braunfels horizontal; One Trailer smoker (being built)

mp4
Expert
Expert