Question about the minion method?

Discussion about Charcoal and Lump Charcoal for smoking meat
SheffSmoker
Expert
Expert
Title: Junk Fettler
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing, normally too drunk.

Question about the minion method?

Post by SheffSmoker » July 14th, 2020, 8:39 am

Hi all,

So I'm just starting out in the world of smoking as you may have seen from my el cheapo build. What's got me wondering though is about keeping a bed of charcoal for longer cooks?

Seen the minion method, but surely as the new coals catch and start to burn they will be afire and producing acrid smoke? Or am I missing something?

Got a cook planned today and think I will just start extra outside the smoker then add it once white.

You can never have too many hammers.

Dirtytires
Expert
Expert
Title: It ain't broke...yet
BBQ Comp Team Name: Dont compete...cook for events once in a while

Re: Question about the minion method?

Post by Dirtytires » July 14th, 2020, 11:16 am

I smoked for years on a cheap offset and used charcoal as my primary fuel as it hated logs. I could get 5 hours out of a basket and pretty constant heat...no bad smoke or flavor either.

First, I use lump charcoal as it doesn’t have the binders and coal dust of compressed briquettes. Also burns cleaner so less dust to clog up the basket. I built a normal square basket out of expanded metal making it as big as would fit in my firebox. I never messed with a mouse-maze as I didn’t need it but hey seem to make sense if you want to experiment with it.

Now, just completely fill the basket with unlit charcoal and dump a full chimney of lit coals on top. Shut your door, close down all your air vents and give the pit an hour to come up to temp. Adjust the air vents just a little at a time and be patient as temps will take a while to adjust.