metal thickness question

raptorchris
beginner
beginner

metal thickness question

Post by raptorchris » January 5th, 2015, 9:49 am

Hi,
I'm about to start my 1st smoker build. I'm building an insulated vertical smoker, similar to a LoneStar Grilz. When I told my metal guy that both the inner and outter skins are to be 11guage, he questioned why the outter skin needs to be that thick. He said that the inner skin and insulation would be more than enough to insulate it, and to save money and weight by going with a thinner outter skin. I'm no expert, and am only going off what others have done. Is there a reason to have the outter skinthat thick or am I ok going thinner?
Thanks,
Chris

The Czar
Expert
Expert
Title: Spam Hammerer
BBQ Comp Team Name: Team SmokerBuilder- Competition BBQ Team
I'm Certifiable

Re: metal thickness question

Post by The Czar » January 5th, 2015, 10:22 am

My opinion is if your insulating then it's okay to go thinner skin...we used 14 gauge before...

If you can't fix it by sheer force or cursing......then it can't be fixed.....

AKA= The Czar

Pennywise
Expert
Expert
Title: Bearded Wonder
BBQ Comp Team Name: WMD BBQ

Post by Pennywise » January 5th, 2015, 10:27 am

I think that the thicker the skin, the more durable, even if insulated and relatively lighter. If you think back to your old BBQ's that you bought from the hardware store, most of them began faltering after a year or two regardless of how clean you keep it and how many times you cover it.

I've never built one of these, but I would probably go bigger just for longevity. JMHO.

Puff
Expert
Expert
Title: Always All In !

Post by Puff » January 5th, 2015, 11:33 am

My 14 gauge skinned gravity feed smoker is about 50" tall NOT including the 8" wheels and their 4" mounts. While I can move it. It takes a monumental effort to push over the 1/4" lip on my garage door apron to the garage floor. I typically need to rock it a few times like a car stuck in mud or snow. It is VERY heavy.