Hello from Dogpatch Arkansas

Tell us a little about yourself!
Smoke_Chef
beginner
beginner

Hello from Dogpatch Arkansas

Post by Smoke_Chef » June 6th, 2012, 11:38 pm

Okay... well... It's not called Dogpatch anymore. It use to be officially called Dogpatch due to a theme park in the area named after the comic strip with Lil' Abner and Daisy Mae. Sadly, the park didn't make it and now it's buildings are just rotting into the ground. We are now called Marble Falls. As found as I was of the theme park, I'm glad the name changed back.

I've been smoking meat for family and friends for about 8 years now. I even got pretty serious about opening a BBQ restaurant but the economy and the fact that my wife and I are expecting our first baby come August I decided put that plans on hold for a while. A long long while I'm afraid. However, the passion for the hobby is still there!! That's what led me to this site. My very loving and supportive wife (who also happens to love BBQ) has signed off on me building (buying?) a much better smoker than the one I currently have. (Brinkman two door upright)

I'm in the early stages of research but I'm 99% sure I have decided on a trailer mounted reverse flow hybrid but I guess that post goes in a different place?

I'll end my intro by saying I'm sure glad I found this place. It looks awesome. I will for sure have questions, as well as pics of the progress after I pull the trigger on the build.

Good smoking all,

Smoke_Chef

PvilleComp
Expert
Expert

Re: Hello from Dogpatch Arkansas

Post by PvilleComp » June 7th, 2012, 7:13 am

:welcome:

Your wife is like mine... she endorses the hobbies where she benefits from the mistakes! ;) Just kidding...

Welcome and you have come to the right place. These guys know their stuff!

The Czar
Expert
Expert
Title: Spam Hammerer
BBQ Comp Team Name: Team SmokerBuilder- Competition BBQ Team
I'm Certifiable

Post by The Czar » June 7th, 2012, 7:17 am