newbie from ct build may be over my head !?

Tell us a little about yourself!
morgansdad
beginner
beginner
Title: Morgansdad
BBQ Comp Team Name: I am competing against myself which makes it hard to keep any secrets

newbie from ct build may be over my head !?

Post by morgansdad » April 25th, 2014, 8:26 am

hello everyone,

I have been smoking for a few years now and have used (and modified) the home depot type of indirect smokers
I have also used (and modified) a larger "professionally built" smoker .My mods have been limited to redirecting the heat/smoke (kind of reverse flow) to repairing hinges and modifying air intake system .

the project at hand is this I am building a tank style rf smoker with a 19 tray warming box atop of the fire box. the tank is 120 inches long and is 30" in diameter. the fb is 29"x29" square.

I found a bbq calculator that tells me my firebox needs to be another 4"x29"x29" . I am stubbornly sticking with this fb because my customer bought an unfinished project from someone copying an Lang. but his cc was only 60"long in which the firebox would have been too big.

here is where I need help, I have the size of the cutout in the firebox from the formula (unless there are better ways to figure) I understand the size of the cutout in the drip tray is critical (would love ideas on that too) plus where if any would you put heat deflecting baffles/pipe etc in order to direct the heat/smoke for a more even cook?

I am nervous because of the length it will be hotter on the fb side (substantially) I am reading that some guys have adjustable drip pans? any ideas? thanks in advance
'

morgansdad
beginner
beginner
BBQ Comp Team Name: I am competing against myself which makes it hard to keep any secrets

Re: newbie from ct build may be over my head !?

Post by morgansdad » April 25th, 2014, 11:55 am

hey here is another question ... who makes a high temp paint that wont burn off I am figuring to paint the cc red any ideas?

Clover Ridge Smokers
Expert