Greetings from Muskogee, OK

Tell us a little about yourself!
Dopeylee

Greetings from Muskogee, OK

Post by Dopeylee » November 4th, 2011, 5:53 pm

I am new to the site. Have been browsing around for a few days. Seems like a very knowledgeable crowd. I have a Char-griller Pro. My little girl decided she wanted a brisket for her birthday. OMG that was 14 hours of work. Ran my butt off allday going back and forth from couch to smoker. I was lucky if i got 30 minutes of piece. Looked at prices for decently made smokers, and thought ouch. Was thinking of maybe getting gear and parts, and try to make an attempt on my own. Thinking it could be a new hobby and maybe make a few bucks on the side. Any input or suggestions would be appreciated. I would be starting from scratch. I have some welding experience, but no equipment yet. Trying to get some idea if it is worth trying before I go begging to the wife, to spend the kind of money I know I am looking at for start up cost. She already complains that I can't find a cheap hobby. lol

Trying to better the world one smoke at a time.

Gizmo
Founder
Founder
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Edna's Kids Comp Team - KCBS Certified Judge

Re: Greetings from Muskogee, OK

Post by Gizmo » November 4th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Welcome aboard! Sounds like you should build a UDS - I've seen a lot of guys using those at the competitions I've been to. I guess they cook fantastic and they're affordable to make. Frank has some plans and I'm sure he'll check in here soon. :)

And on the eighth day God created barbecue …. because he DOES love us and he wants us to be happy. :D
Current smokers: Egor (trailered RF) and Easybake (tabletop pellet drive)

Frank_Cox
Site Admin
Site Admin
BBQ Comp Team Name: https://smokerbuilderu.com

Post by Frank_Cox » November 4th, 2011, 6:01 pm

Welcome dopeylee!!!