New member!

Tell us a little about yourself!
TexasN1880
beginner
beginner

New member!

Post by TexasN1880 » March 8th, 2017, 8:35 am

Good morning yall,
My name is Casey Holcomb. I am new to the site. I just joined yesterday and I am very excited to look through the forums and learn some things.

I am about to start my first ever smoker build. I have been smoking meats now for about 14 years on a standard backyard type smoker.
I competed in a bbq cook off competition last weekend and my team did pretty well. Now I am hooked. I haven't stopped thinking about how I want to build my smoker trailer for the competitions I want to do.

Last night I bought an older flat bed trailer that I believe was an old RV camper someone converted into a flatbed trailer.
I am just using it for the frame anyway. I was thinking about using a boat trailer but I only paid $200 for this trailer and I kinda like the Idea of having it on a flat bed. I plan on building tables and having everything easily accessible.

Im not going for the best in show look but I just want everything to be an easy process for loading and unloading.

I decided to go with a 250 gallon propane tank for the cooking chamber. I plan on getting that next month. I have to kinda space things out so I don't get in trouble from the wife for spending all our money lol.

Anyway gents I am glad to be here.
smoke on!!!

KarateDoc
SmokerBuilder Addict
SmokerBuilder Addict
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Doc's Kick Butt BBQ, Not competing yet...

Re: New member!

Post by KarateDoc » March 8th, 2017, 9:35 am

Welcome and looking forward to seeing your build. Lots of good folk here.

Looks at a piece of meat and wonders how many ways can I smoke that.

Here is my build of the Stump's Clone viewtopic.php?f=56&t=5280

Rodcrafter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Post by Rodcrafter » March 8th, 2017, 10:07 am

:welcome:

Welcome to the crew!