New Smoker From CA!

Tell us a little about yourself!
Brady
beginner
beginner
Title: Low and Slow
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

New Smoker From CA!

Post by Brady » August 22nd, 2018, 2:05 pm

Hello everyone! So I am new to the smoking world, and there isn't very many resources about smoking out here in CA, so I've been looking online for some information and stumbled upon this beautiful place! So I just recently got into smoking, about 2 months ago, and I'm obsessed. My Dad passed down his old Traeger to me and I've dove right in. Now I love my Traeger for learning the basics about barbecue, but now I'm looking to upgrade to a stick smoker here pretty soon. I want to build my own, and naturally I've got a heap of questions. But my main question, and what I'm split on, is whether I should go with an offset smoker, or a cabinet? I like the cabinet design because from what I've read they are super efficient and have a consistent heat throughout. Also, they can have a water pan to help keep moisture in your meat and to help regulate the temp in your CC. But the downside that I have seen is that people say you can't use whole splits in them, only chunks, and they have to use a mixture of coals. Now I know offset smokers use splits, or a mixture, which is appealing to me as well. But the only downside is that I haven't seen one with a water pan, so I assume this isn't possible. And the variation in temperature in the CC is a hit and miss with me. I like the idea of being able to have 2 temps for different cuts of meat at the same time, but I don't want to have to open my CC door and move my meats around during a cook, letting out that precious heat more than I have to. So I am turning to the experts here to see what your guys' opinion is on this! Cabinet smoker so I can have a water pan and consistent temps in the CC, or offset so I can burn whole splits? Or is it possible to build a cabinet that can burn splits, or an offset that has a water pan?

ajfoxy