Aussie Aussie Aussie

Tell us a little about yourself!
jolly
beginner
beginner

Aussie Aussie Aussie

Post by jolly » September 13th, 2018, 5:44 am

Good Evening, good morning, good afternoon does it really matter? im sure someone is smoking :D

New to the club and been smoking for a little over 12 months. Im from... can you guess? yes Australia specially the Gold Coast, love it here and smoking is slowly creeping in around town. Ive got a Kamado, (actually a cheap and dirty bunnings egg) but its dipped my toes and owww my god do i enjoy the cook, friends are really enjoying it all too.

Anyhow Ive decided to try building one, Got a couple of mates on board to help out, one is an engineer who (thinks) knows everything, the other an bloke is a boiler maker and myself im a wanna be electrician. After using the Kamado ive really got my eyes set on a reverse Flow Offset, I like the idea of the baffel plate acting as a diffuser.

Im planning on buying the plans from smokerplans.net (actually how i found this fourm) and the plan specifically the Metric 50.8 x 123 unit, i really like the idea of the two lids and the warmer box.

https://www.smokerplans.net/index.php?m ... 8474a8db20

now a couple of questions,

1. call me a nooob but it looks to be a tank, now when i think of tank like this i think Vehicle LPG gas tank? am i correct in this assumption? im also concerned that they will potentially be gal finish, what is the inside lining likely to be finished in? ultimately is this type of tank going to be safe to cook with?

2. This to me seems like an awsome build but honestly am i biting off more than i can chew with this as a first build? is it going to be excessively costly? and what would you say approx time to build such a unit, please be honest and not bias.

3. last question

opinion on wireless thermometer? I was considering a tappecue or a fireboard, feel free to throw in differend brands, would love to hear differences pros/cons,