Newb and first time build

Tell us a little about yourself!
Maga Smoke
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Newb and first time build

Post by Maga Smoke » November 20th, 2019, 8:52 pm

Hello all,
I am new to building a smoker, but have used quite a few over the years, my favorite was an offset that I had for about ten years but burned the firebox and the main cooking chamber out after years of cooking and not cleaning it properly.

I’ve had a few vertical smokers too that I’ve done the same thing too. I like cooking :biggrillin: not cleaning :PBox: and it has cost me in new smokers over the years.

Anyway I’m about to build one and have most of what I need.

Just have to weld it up the big safe is 30”w x 25”d x 60”h and 1/8” thick. The pipe is 24” x 60”l and is 3/8” thick the fire box was a night deposit box safe and is 26” cubed and 1” thick shouldn’t burn it out.

I plan to use tuning plates and am playing with the idea of making the horizontal pipe chamber reverse flow as well as feeding the vertical chamber.

Would love to hear from anyone with advice.

I live south of Houston Tx, and I paid a visit to Pits by Klose, I met Carla who was a very nice lady for a few free pointers that she graciously provided, David was busy in the shop and I didn’t have the opportunity to meet him, but I hope to make another visit to them soon.

Anyway this is a pretty big undertaking for me as my welding skills aren’t that developed, but I have all the good equipment to make it happen.

Will post some pics as soon as I figure out how.
Wish me luck.

Thanks Jeff

Maga Smoke

Re: Newb and first time build

Post by Maga Smoke » November 20th, 2019, 9:16 pm

So this is the project mocked up, still have to do some cutting and welding but you get the idea.
3F769773-390B-4359-A71F-15282D2D2996.jpeg
2B165B3F-6C4A-4E4E-8720-35685482138B.jpeg
F1ABC982-F4F7-460D-B159-4EAFDA99A702.jpeg

Big T
Title: Go Getter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Backyard Boys