Build Question

Smoker Clones are your own version of a commercially available Smoker. Examples are Stumps, Jambo, Backwoods, or any other you want to try to copy.
mrshaund
Wants to build a smoker
Wants to build a smoker
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Captn Flaskies BBQ

Build Question

Post by mrshaund » May 8th, 2017, 3:39 pm

My buddy has let me use his shop which happens to have a 52 inch bender and had an idea which i thought I seen here before but cant find now. He is thinking of bending the inner and outer shell then building frame around it. Is there any concern with this?

Weldun
Expert
Expert
Title: I'm no expert
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Re: Build Question

Post by Weldun » May 8th, 2017, 4:47 pm

I suppose it would save you welding a few seams, I guess part of my decision would hinge on how good am I at layout and braking my pieces, over bent and under bent pieces create issues of a different sort. I have access to a 10' press brake and opted not to go that route, the juice just didn't seem worth the squeeze for no more than I was going to gain and besides I enjoy welding. I think you could go either way and be successful after all personal preference is what makes building these things fun.

Grandma always said "if ya can't be handsome ya better at least be handy"

Squiggle
Expert
Expert
Title: Reformed non-smoker!

Post by Squiggle » May 8th, 2017, 7:10 pm

:yth: I like welding too & bending those pieces would only save four seams. But, in saying that, there have been many people who have bent their inner & outer walls with great success. :kewl:

Formerly known as "Hey you there in the bushes!"

mrshaund
Wants to build a smoker
Wants to build a smoker
BBQ Comp Team Name: Captn Flaskies BBQ

Post by mrshaund » May 8th, 2017, 7:40 pm

The reason we came up with this is i only have an angle grinder and was paying for the sheet to be cut he is comfortable doing the bending so saving on outsourced laber.